Monday, October 8, 2012

2012 Stan Musial Award

The Victoria Seals Baseball Blog (VSBB) is a proud member of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance (BBA). The VSBB once again has the honour of casting a ballot for the five awards given to players and managers in both the National and American Leagues. Today we reveal our ballots for the Stan Musial Award, which will be presented to the MVP in each league.

In 2010, Buster Posey had an outstanding rookie season and led the Giants to their first World Series title since they moved to San Francisco at the end of the 1957 season. Last year, a gruesome ankle injury left the Giants without their star catcher for most of the season and the team missed the playoffs. This season, Posey returned to form and the Giants easily cruised to the NL West title. When looking for the National League MVP, the search starts and stops with Buster Posey.

Posey won the NL batting title with a .336 average, the first catcher to do so in the senior circuit since 1942. He also slammed 24 homers and knocked in 103 runs and provided the Giants with excellent defense behind the plate.

Our National League ballot for the Stan Musial Award is:
  1. Buster Posey, San Franscisco Giants
  2. Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers
  3. David Wright, NY Mets
  4. Chase Headley, San Diego Padrees
  5. Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
  6. Jason Heyward, Atlanta Braves
  7. Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals
  8. Aramis Ramirez, Milwaukee Brewers
  9. Michael Bourn, Atlanta Braves
  10. Aaron Hill, Arizona Diamondbacks
Choosing an MVP for the AL was even easier than in the NL, as Mike Trout had a spectacular season. We gave him the top spot on our Willie Mays Award ballot (rookie of the year) and I'm equally confident that he deserves the Stan Musial Award. Trout played unbelievable defense in centre field for the Angels in addition to being an offensive force. He hit .326 with 30 homers and 83 RBI, swiped 49 bases and scored an impressive 129 runs. It will be interesting to see how his career plays out, but the 21 year-old has future Hall of Famer written all over him.

Our AL ballot is as follows:
  1. Mike Trout, LA Angels
  2. Robinson Cano, NY Yankees
  3. Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers
  4. Justin Verlander, Detroit Tigers
  5. Adrian Beltre, Texas Rangers
  6. Felix Hernandez, Seattle Mariners
  7. Ben Zobrist, Tampa Bay Rays
  8. Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals
  9. Austin Jackson, Detroit Tigers
  10. Torii Hunter, LA Angels